Author Topic: I'm in 2 minds over this.  (Read 385 times)

Offline Grumpmeister

• Power Poster
  • Prankmeister General
I'm in 2 minds over this.
« on: April 16, 2009, 05:02:01 PM »
A nurse agrees to film conditions in a hospital that had been the subject of numberous complaints to Panorama in order to expose what was going on there. She didn't compormise her duty of care, if anything by showing what was actually going on at the hospital you can argue that she had a strong obligation to the welfare of the patients.

On the other hand, one of the primary things that was hammered into me when I was a student nurse was the importance of patient confidentiality and while there are situations where you are not only allowed but obligated to breach it this isnt one of them.

Perhaps the question that the regulators should be asking is why did a nurse with 20 years experience agree to the secret filming. Was the system so badly broken that she took the opportunity to show her concerns and has if been improved since? 

A nurse who secretly filmed for the BBC to reveal the neglect of elderly patients at a hospital has been struck off for misconduct.

Margaret Haywood, 58, filmed at the Royal Sussex Hospital in Brighton for a BBC Panorama programme in July 2005.

She was struck off by the Nursing and Midwifery Council on Thursday after being a nurse for more than 20 years.

The panel said she "followed the behest of the filmmakers... rather than her obligations as a nurse".

Ms Haywood, of Liverpool, said: "I am absolutely devastated and upset by it all. I think I have been treated very harshly.

"It is a serious issue and I knew it was a risk I was taking but I thought the filming was justified and it was in the public interest.

"I always made it clear to the BBC that patients would come first at all times."

She said she had voiced her concerns through her immediate line manager "but nothing was really taken on board" and the whole process now needed to be reviewed.